Press Release

Stormont Committee Discusses Work On ‘Devolution’

Session: 2008/2009

Date: Tuesday, 07 October 2008

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee, chaired by Jimmy Spratt, began further work, today, on the devolution of policing and justice matters.

Mr. Spratt confirmed that the Committee spent the morning discussing a list of issues which it needs to examine in more detail. He said,

“Submissions from the leaders of seven of the political parties represented in the Assembly formed the basis for the Committee’s discussions.”

Mr Spratt acknowledged that, whilst a submission from the First Minister and deputy First Minister had failed to materialise, he went on to say, “Suggestions from Alliance, the DUP, the Green Party, the PUP, Sinn Fein, the SDLP and the Ulster Unionists had given the Committee much food for thought on what is a complex, and sensitive, issue.”

Mr Spratt explained that the Committee is likely to look at

  • The method the Assembly might use for appointing a Policing and Justice Minister;
  • How a Department for Policing and Justice would fit into the Executive;
  • The structure of the Department;
  • Relationships with counterpart organisations in Great Britain and the Republic of Ireland;
  • Who, in the Executive, might be responsible for the appointment of an Attorney General and members of the judiciary;
  • The future status, and accountability, of the Court Service and the Public Prosecution Service;
  • Relationships with the Policing Board;
  • The cost of providing a full range of policing and justice services; and
  • The timing of ‘devolution’.

Mr Spratt said, “The Committee also agreed to conduct its examination of these issues by way of an Inquiry, or Report, the Terms of Reference for which will be the subject of discussion when the Committee next meets.”

Notes to Editors:

The Northern Ireland Assembly has established a Standing Committee known as the Assembly and Executive Review Committee.

Membership of the Committee is as follows:


Mr Jimmy Spratt

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Raymond McCartney

Committee Members:

Mr Alex Attwood


Mrs Carmel Hanna Mr Simon Hamilton


Mr Danny Kennedy


Mr Nelson McCausland Mr Alan McFarland Mr Alex Maskey Mr John O’Dowd Mr Ian Paisley Jnr

The Committee meets in Parliament Buildings and visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website for details of meetings prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings.

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up