Press Release

Review Of Teacher Training Changes Announced

Session: 2007/2008

Date: Thursday, 29 May 2008

Reference: EL 02/08

A review of teacher training provision has been launched by the Committee for Employment and Learning. This follows the Minister’s announcement of changes to the funding of the two teacher training colleges at Stranmillis and St. Mary’s University College.

Changes that have been announced include the proposed merger of Stranmillis with Queen’s University Belfast.

Commenting on the review, the Committee’s Chairperson Sue Ramsey MLA said, “In March the Committee was made aware of planned changes to the way in which our local teacher training colleges are funded. Since that time, the Committee has been concerned that the process has moved very rapidly with no opportunity to consider important issues. We believe that there should be an opportunity for a wide range of stakeholders to give their views and for a full consideration of the issues to be made.

“This ‘stakeholder review’ will enable all interested parties to express their views and concerns on this process and we will be taking evidence from across the spectrum.”

Deputy Chairperson Jimmy Spratt added, “The Committee, of course, wishes to see value for money delivered in the field of teacher education. However, we consider that the process to date has not afforded a full, open and transparent discussion on the key issues. The Committee review will allow for the full range of views to be heard.”

The Committee proposes to provide a report with recommendations to the Minister for Employment and Learning by the end of October 2008.


Notes to Editors:

Membership of the Employment and Learning Committee is as follows:

Chairperson: Sue Ramsey
Deputy Chairperson: Jimmy Spratt
Committee Members:
Alex Attwood
Paul Butler
Anna Lo
Nelson McCausland
David McClarty
Basil McCrea
Claire McGill
Robin Newton
Alastair Ross

Enquiries about the work of the Committee for Employment and Learning should be directed to the Clerk to the Committee, Room 283, Parliament Buildings, Stormont, Belfast BT4 3XX, Tel: 028 9052 1653 or email:

Media enquiries regarding the work of Committees should be directed to:

Debra Savage, Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast, BT4 3XX; Telephone 028 9052 1405; mobile 07920 864221. Website:; E-mail:

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up