Press Release

Inquiry On Devolution Of Policing And Justice Matters

Session: 2007/2008

Date: Tuesday, 06 November 2007

Reference: AER 08- 07/08

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee met today to continue its discussions on the options for a Ministerial model and procedures for filling Ministerial post/s for any new Department of Policing and Justice. The Committee also discussed the structure of any new Department, as well as issues of governance and accountability.

The Committee is expected to report by February 2008 on the preparations which the Assembly has made, and needs to make, to facilitate the devolution of policing and justice matters.

The Committee today agreed a forward work programme up until December 2007.

Notes to Editors:

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee is a Standing Committee of the Northern Ireland Assembly.

Membership of the Committee is as follows:
Chairperson: Rt. Hon. Jeffrey Donaldson, MP
Deputy Chairperson: Mr Raymond McCartney
Committee Members: Mr Alex Attwood
Mrs Carmel Hanna
Mr Danny Kennedy
Mr Nelson McCausland
Mr Ian McCrea
Mr Alan McFarland
Ms Carál Ní Chuilín
Mr John O’Dowd
Mr George Robinson

The Committee meets in Parliament Buildings and visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website ( for details of meetings prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings.

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up