Press Release

Inquiry Into The Devolution Of Policing And Justice

Session: 2007/2008

Date: Thursday, 07 February 2008

Reference: AER 17- 07/08

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee met today to hear from NIO officials who presented illustrative examples of the draft legislation which would be necessary to give effect to the devolution of policing and justice powers, if the Assembly were to make such a request.

The Committee also continued its discussions on the structure and accountability arrangements for the organisations within any new department of policing and justice.

The Committee is approaching the 29 February 2008 deadline for submitting a report to the Assembly on the preparations which the Assembly has made, and needs to make, to enable the devolution of policing and justice.

Notes to Editors:

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee is a Standing Committee of the Northern Ireland Assembly.

Membership of the Committee is as follows:


Rt. Hon. Jeffrey Donaldson, MP

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Raymond McCartney

Committee Members:

Mr Alex Attwood


Mrs Carmel Hanna


Mr Danny Kennedy


Mr Nelson McCausland


Mr Ian McCrea


Mr Alan McFarland


Ms Carál Ní Chuilín


Mr John O’Dowd


Mr George Robinson


The Committee meets in Parliament Buildings and visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website ( for details of meetings prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings.

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up