Press Release

Further Discussions On The Devolution Of Policing And Justice Powers

Session: 2007/2008

Date: Tuesday, 15 January 2008

Reference: AER 14- 07/08

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee met today to conduct a further review of the matters to be transferred as part of the devolution of policing and justice.

The Committee also had detailed discussions on the structure and accountability arrangements for the organisations within any new department of policing and justice as it prepares to meet the deadline for submitting its report to the Assembly.

Notes to Editors:

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee is a Standing Committee of the Northern Ireland Assembly.

Membership of the Committee is as follows:


Rt. Hon. Jeffrey Donaldson, MP

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Raymond McCartney

Committee Members:

Mr Alex Attwood


Mrs Carmel Hanna


Mr Danny Kennedy


Mr Nelson McCausland


Mr Ian McCrea


Mr Alan McFarland


Ms Carál Ní Chuilín


Mr John O’Dowd


Mr George Robinson

The Committee meets in Parliament Buildings and visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website ( for details of meetings prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings.

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up