Press Release

Assembly And Executive Review Committee

Session: 2007/2008

Date: Tuesday, 20 November 2007

Reference: AER 09- 07/08

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee met today to continue its discussions on the governance and accountability mechanisms within any new department of policing and justice.

The Committee agreed to invite a number of expert witnesses to assist in its consideration of the potential structure of the Criminal Justice System.

The Committee is required to report by February 2008 on the preparations which the Assembly has made, and needs to make, to facilitate the devolution of policing and justice matters and is expected to invite the Chief Constable to make an appearance before the Committee in January 2008.

Notes to Editors:

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee is a Standing Committee of the Northern Ireland Assembly.
Membership of the Committee is as follows:


Rt. Hon. Jeffrey Donaldson, MP

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Raymond McCartney

Committee Members:

Mr Alex Attwood


Mrs Carmel Hanna


Mr Danny Kennedy


Mr Nelson McCausland


Mr Ian McCrea


Mr Alan McFarland


Ms Carál Ní Chuilín


Mr John O’Dowd


Mr George Robinson

The Committee meets in Parliament Buildings and visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website ( for details of meetings prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings.

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up