

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 18TH JUNE 2014 BELFAST HARBOUR COMMISSIONERS OFFICE, CORPORATION SQUARE

Present:

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mrs Brenda Hale MLA
Mr David McNarry MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mrs Tara McClafferty (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Michael Donaghy (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Ross Hussey MLA Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA Mr Declan McAleer MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

9:11am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson gave Members an overview of the meeting he held with the Minister regarding enforcement cameras in bus lanes, which took place on Monday 16th June 2014.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 11th June 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Agriculture

and Rural Development regarding sustainable tourism within the Rural Development Plan and agreed to include this in the Inquiry Report.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding further information on policy proposals for a Water

Bill.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on the Railway Investment

Prioritisation Strategy and Belfast on the Move.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Northern Ireland Environment

Link regarding Committee queries on presentation and agreed to include this

in the Inquiry Report.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the cancellation of the briefing on the Railway Investment Prioritisation Strategy on 2nd July 2014 and agreed to re-

schedule this briefing for Wednesday 25th June 2014.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on NIEL and Sport NI presentations and agreed to include this in the Inquiry Report.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on June Monitoring.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the DRD Permanent Secretary temporary promotion

opportunity.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the Committee's Inquiry into Unadopted Roads.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

development regarding The Transport (2011 Act) (Commencement No. 2)

Order (Northern Ireland) 2014.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding The Transport (2011 Act) (Commencement No. 3)

Order (Northern Ireland) 2014.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding launch of travel safe guide for people with learning

disabilities.

Agreed: The Committee noted a consultation from the SEUPB regarding European

Territorial Cooperation 2014 – 2020 and agreed to respond to this

consultation.

5. Northern Ireland Water Briefing: Price Control 2015

9:30am The following representatives joined the meeting

Sara Venning – Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Water George Butler – Director of Asset Management, Northern Ireland Water Ronan Larkin – Director of Finance and Regulation, Northern Ireland Water

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

9:58am Mr McNarry joined the meeting

10:04am Mrs Hale left the meeting

10:09am Mrs Hale re-joined the meeting

10:16am The representatives left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed

6. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Long Term Water Strategy

10:17am The following officials joined the meeting

Robert Crawford – Head of Water Policy Division, DRD Stuart Wightman – Water Policy Division, DRD Julian Smyth – Water Policy Division, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:18am	Mr Spratt left the meeting
10:18am	The Deputy Chairperson assumed the role of Chairperson
10:23am	Mr Spratt re-joined the meeting and re-assumed the role of Chairperson
10:26am	Mr Byrne left the meeting
10:31am	Mr Byrne re-joined the meeting
10:44am	The officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request a briefing on Belfast Waste Water Treatment Works in the new session.

7. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Road Races (Eagles Rock Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Craigantlet Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

8. SL1: The U6007 Meadowlands, Downpatrick (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of the policy proposal.

9. SL1: The Lower Galliagh Road, Londonderry (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of the policy proposal.

10. SR 2014/145: The U232 Aghafad Road (Rubble Road), Newtownstewart (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/145:

The U232 Aghafad Road (Rubble Road), Newtownstewart (Abandonment)

Order (Northern Ireland) 2014 and has no objection to the rule.

11. SR 2014/141: The B162 Disert Road, Draperstown (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/141:

The B162 Disert Road, Draperstown (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland)

2014 and has no objection to the rule.

12. Any Other Business

13. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 25th June 2014 at 9:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings

10:47am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 25/06/14