

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 28TH NOVEMBER 2012 THE SENATE CHAMBER

Present:

Mr Séan Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr John Dallat MLA

Mr Stewart Dickson MLA

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

Mr Ian McCrea MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Mr Nathan McVeigh (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Tara McKee (Clerical Supervisor)

Ms Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA (Chairperson)

Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA

10.24am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

None.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 21st November 2012.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Northern Ireland Ambulance

Service Health and Social Trust regarding the Committee Inquiry Into The Better Use of Public and Community Sector Funds For the Delivery Of Bus

Transport Options and agreed to include in the Inquiry Report.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department of Enterprise,

Trade and Investment regarding the Financial Capability Strategy for

Northern Ireland.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department regarding a

TEN-T event.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Roads Service regarding York

Street Interchange Scheme.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department regarding a

press release in relation to the Belfast Rapid Transit System.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Lisburn City Council regarding

Shop Mobility funding.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Consumer Council regarding

the Utility Regulator's Draft Determination of Price Control 2013.

5. Departmental Briefing: EU Issues

10.36am The following Officials joined the meeting:

Tom Reid – Director of Transport Strategy and Legislation Division

The Official presented to the Committee in respect of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10.39am Mr Hussey joined the meeting

11.11am Mr McAleer joined the meeting

11.25am Mr McNarry left the meeting

11.25am Mr McNarry rejoined the meeting

11.29am Mr Dallat left the meeting

11.30am Mr Dallat rejoined the meeting

Agreed: That the Committee would write to Northern Ireland's 3 Members of the

European Parliament asking them to brief the Committee in relation to this

issue.

Agreed: That the Department would provide information to the Committee on the

costing of their amendments in relation to TEN-T funding when this has been

completed.

Agreed: That the Department would provide the Committee with information on its

prioritised infrastructure list.

Agreed: That the Committee make contact with their counterparts in the Scottish

Parliament to arrange a briefing in relation to this issue.

11.31am The Official left the meeting

6. Departmental Briefing: Taxis in Bus Lanes

11.32am The following Officials joined the meeting:

Simon Richardson – Head of Engineering Policy and Parking Services Harvey Hamilton – Principal Engineer – Traffic Management Policy Branch

The Officials presented to the Committee in respect of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11.43am Mr Hussey left the meeting

11.43am Mr Hussey rejoined the meeting

11.43am Mr Hussey left the meeting

11.48am Mr Hussey rejoined the meeting

11.54am Mr Ó hOisín left the meeting

11.56am Mr Ó hOisín rejoined the meeting

12.01pm Mr Easton left the meeting

12.02pm Mr McNarry left the meeting

12.02pm Mr Hussey left the meeting

12.02pm Mr McAleer left the meeting

12.05pm The Officials left the meeting

7. Translink Briefing: Belfast Transport Hub

12.05pm The following Officials joined the meeting:

Clive Bradberry – Infrastructure Executive Maurice Wray – Head of Estates

The Officials presented to the Committee in respect of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12.07pm Mr McAleer rejoined the meeting

12.14pm Mr McNarry rejoined the meeting

12.23pm The Officials left the meeting

8 Subordinate legislation not subject to Assembly procedure

Members noted:

- The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Ballymena) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012
- The Parking Places, Loading Bays and Waiting Restrictions (Randalstown) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012
- The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No.7) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012
- The Parking Places on Roads (Donaghmore) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012

Agreed:

The Committee would write to the Department asking how many disabled spaces will be added in Ballynahinch, Killyleagh, Kircubbin and Newtownards, how many disabled spaces will be removed in Newtownards and how many spaces will be lost overall.

9. SL1: The Greystone Road, Limavady (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department indicating that it is content with the merits of the policy proposals.

10. Any Other Business

The Clerk informed Members that the Water and Sewerage Services (Amendment) Bill is now in Committee stage.

Agreed: That the Committee conduct a shorter consultation period of 4 weeks and

consult with the same stakeholders as the previous Water Bill.

One Member brought to the Committee's attention that the Lennon case has now been completed.

Agreed: That the Committee invite the Minister to brief Members on this case.

11. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 5th December 2012 at 10.30am in the Senate Chamber.

12.31pm The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Sean Lynch MLA
Deputy Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development
05/12/12